Instagram

Are Spices Safe While Following a Gluten-Free Diet?

WHEN YOU SHARE, IT MEANS YOU CARE!
Share on Facebook77Pin on Pinterest5Share on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

Even though herbs and spices are typically consumed in small quantities, it’s very important to ensure your gluten-free efforts don’t go down the drain because of daily use of your favorite spice or seasoning.

You might be asking yourself, aren’t spices just dried herbs?! Why would there be gluten in them? Well, what commonly happens is that they are cross-contaminated with gluten. It’s not clear whether the problem lies in their harvesting, production or distribution, though. In rare cases, spices can be adulterated with wheat flour or wheat starch to reduce costs.

“In food manufacturing, the term “seasonings” refers to a blend of spices and/or herbs, often combined with a carrier agent (e.g., salt, sugar, lactose, starches or flours) and an anti-caking agent. Gluten-containing ingredients that are used in seasonings can include wheat flour, wheat starch, wheat crumbs or hydrolyzed wheat protein.” (Allergic Living)

To guarantee your spices and your seasoning are 100% gluten-free, you can grow your own spices or buy them fresh at grocery stores and sun dry them.

For a list of gluten-free  brands of spices and seasoning check out the 2 articles below:

Gluten Free Condiments 

Gluten Free Spices 

Sources:

http://www.rollingoutdough.com/gluten-free-spices-101/

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/Gluten-Free-Condiments/a/Gluten-free-Spices.htm

http://allergicliving.com/2014/07/02/are-spices-safe-for-a-gluten-free-diet/

WHEN YOU SHARE, IT MEANS YOU CARE!
Share on Facebook77Pin on Pinterest5Share on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter