Instagram

Is wine really gluten free?

WHEN YOU SHARE, IT MEANS YOU CARE!
Share on Facebook96Pin on Pinterest1Share on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

Most wine is considered gluten free!

When beginning a gluten free diet lots of people wonder if they will still be able to drink alcohol socially and the answer is YES! You just have to find out which alcoholic beverages are truly gluten free.

When it comes to wine, it’s a bit controversial. It’s made from grapes and not from any grain, so we could say without any doubt that wine is 100% gluten free, right? No, we can’t!

There are 2 points in the wine making process where gluten can be introduced.

1. The risk of cross contamination with wines that are aged in barrels which have been sealed with a gluten/water based paste (not very common in the wineries in the US).

2. Gluten can be used to fine the wine. However, even if gluten is used the point of fining is to clarify the wine: the fining substance drifts through the wines, collects any unwanted particles and falls out to the bottom of the tank where it is left behind. What’s left of gluten is less than 10 parts per million in finished (bottled) wine, below the 20ppm threshold for a food to be considered gluten-free. Most people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity do not react from wine, but if you have high sensitivity, you may experience a reaction.

Important!

Watch out for the wine coolers! They may not be gluten free since they contain barley malt. Commonly, dessert wines may be added with ingredients such as coloring or flavoring and they might contain gluten, so always check with the manufacturers.

We can conclude that for the majority of people with celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, we can consider wine to be gluten-free and safe to drink, but we thought it was important to share this information so that each individual could make a safe choice.

How about making our own survey?! Have you ever had a reaction to gluten when drinking wine? Tell us in the comments.

Inspirational sources:

  • http://www.gluten-free-for-life.com/gluten-free-alcohol.html
  • http://www.drvino.com/2011/11/30/gluten-free-wine/
  • http://www.glutenfreeliving.info/2010/01/is-wine-gluten-free/
  • http://rachelbegun.com/ask-the-gluten-free-rd-is-there-gluten-in-wine
  • http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreefoodshoppin1/f/Is-Wine-Gluten-Free.htm
  • http://www.glutenfreesurvivalguide.org/gluten-free-diet-guide/gluten-free-alcohol/

 

WHEN YOU SHARE, IT MEANS YOU CARE!
Share on Facebook96Pin on Pinterest1Share on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

 

No Comments