Instagram

Sneaky Sources Of Gluten – Recognize Them And Never Get “Glutened” Again

WHEN YOU SHARE, IT MEANS YOU CARE!
Share on Facebook
Facebook
2kPin on Pinterest
Pinterest
0Share on Google+
Google+
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter



When you first start living gluten-free, you probably know the obvious sources of gluten. As time goes by, you learn how to read labels and you discover other names that mean gluten.

You get the hang of it and you start feeling better as your body recovers.

However, out of the blue you feel sick again! You got “glutened”! You can’t figure out how this could have happened, you have been as careful as you know how to be.

The problem might not rely only on food, so pay close attention to our list of 13 sneaky sources of gluten and never get “glutened” again! You will be surprised about many of them specially numbers 9 and 13!

Make sure to click on pages 2 and 3 to see the whole list!

1. Gum

candy-760428_640

We know you don’t swallow your gum (at least, your not supposed to), but you do swallow a lot of the juice and flavoring from it and that can lead to a reaction. If we are considering kids, the risk is even higher because they can swallow it by accident.

The website About.com lists some brands that are gluten-free, but it only applies to the ones manufactured in the US. Glee Gum, Trident and Wrigley are safe. Check the full list here

2. Chocolate

chocolate-1220658_640

Oh, no!! Some chocolate candy products feature gluten ingredients, mostly in the form of barley malt (a popular sweetener frequently used in candy). Lindt Chocolates uses barley malt in many of its products.

Other chocolate candies contain no gluten ingredients, can be subject to gluten cross-contamination.

No need to freak out, though! There are gluten-free chocolates out there. Dove Chocolates are completely whereas Nestlé has only one variety considered gluten free (Milk Chocolate bar)  and Hershey’s considers 2 of their bars to be gluten free (its plain milk chocolate bar and its milk chocolate with almonds bar)

For a full list of gluten-free chocolate click here

3. Sushi

sushi-748139_640

The sticky sushi rice is prepared with Japanese rice vinegar or rice wine that contain gluten.
And that “crab meat?” Well, it’s not really crab, it’s pulverized white fish mixed with a binder, that’s where the wheat comes in. Even the sesame seeds that sometimes coat sushi rolls may be mixed with a wheat product.

4. Soy sauce

seasonings-72790_640

The other reason sushi might be off the menu. Your typical soy sauce is 40% to 60% wheat. Tamari could replace soy sauce.

WHEN YOU SHARE, IT MEANS YOU CARE!
Share on Facebook
Facebook
2kPin on Pinterest
Pinterest
0Share on Google+
Google+
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter